I Want More Points

Extra Credit Blog

I Don’t Like It But I Love It

Today, Facebook broadened what it means to “Like.” With Facebook Reactions, users can now express five additional emotions including love, amusement, surprise, sadness and anger.Whether it’s a simple update or breaking news, users are listening and joining in the conversation. Facebook Reactions will allow your users to express themselves in a different way.

Facebook is a place to connect and collaborate. It creates a dialogue between companies and consumers. Our team aims for users to interact and engage with our content, but engaging a consumer in conversation isn’t as easy as gaining a simple like. Using Facebook Reactions, users now are able to provide more information about their thoughts and feelings without having to put it into words. This means extra insight on exactly how your content is received.

Whether it’s a simple update or breaking news, users are listening and joining in the conversation. Facebook Reactions will allow your users to express themselves in a different way. Facebook is a place to connect and collaborate. It creates a dialogue between companies and consumers. Our team aims for users to interact and engage with our content, but engaging a consumer in conversation isn’t as easy as gaining a simple like. Using Facebook Reactions, users now are able to provide more information about their thoughts and feelings without having to put it into words. This means extra insight on exactly how your content is received.

A Like is one thing, but emotional reactions will have an effect on the content produced. Now users can express how they truly feel by simply clicking a button. Although a post may receive an angry reaction, this might be the proper response to the content. I always struggled with knowing how to react to posts that would be about death or something very sad. I didn’t want to ignore it but was liking really the appropriate move?

I “love” this new additional to Facebook and I look forward to see what it brings to our social lives.

Facebook Enhances Everyone’s Like With Love, Haha, Wow, Sad, Angry Buttons

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments on “I Don’t Like It But I Love It

  1. kaylafavaloro
    March 16, 2016

    I think this a really big change for Facebook. I agree sometimes a like really cannot express what your are trying to say. The expressions that you now can communicate through Facebook I think is a positive change for the platform. If anything I think they can only expand the expressions, even though that could get a little much. I am interested how people as a whole are feeling about this new change.

    Like

  2. akswezey
    March 28, 2016

    I think this update has been a long time coming. People have been wanting more than a “Like” button for a long time. I like how Facebook didn’t just create a “Dislike” button but allowed their users to share their emotions.

    I’ve already noticed that people use this on Facebook through the little emojis that pop up. It’s nice seeing others are using this new update. I like how you talked about Facebook as being a place to “connect and collaborate.” I agree with you and I’m wondering how other social media platforms will respond to Facebook’s update. Instagram, Twitter and LinkedIn are all collaboration and connection sites. I wonder if these platforms will adopt a similar update with emojis, or hearts, etc.

    I think the next couple months will be important for Facebook’s update to see if people still use it, if other platforms adopt it, and how it succeeds.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 24, 2016 by in Social Media Marketing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Follow I Want More Points on WordPress.com
