I Want More Points

Extra Credit Blog

Survey: Instagram is the Most Important Social Network for Teens

http://www.prsa.org/SearchResults/view/11262/105/Survey_Instagram_Is_the_Most_Important_Social_Netw#.ViaqBrS4mCQ

What are the odds that the week we read Chapter 7 for Social Media about Instagram, is the same time Public Relations Tactics posts an article about Instagram?

The twice-annual survey from investment bank Piper Jaffray states that Instagram is the leading social networking site based on teenager’s rankings, followed by Twitter, Snapchat, and lastly Facebook.  I could not agree more with the way teenagers ranked these four sites because if I was given the survey I would rank them the same way.  The only reason I have a Facebook is because of my sorority.  Once I graduate I will most likely delete Facebook.  I believe Snapchat will fade out in time being that it also took a very long time to gain popularity among teens.  I believe Twitter will be around for a very long time with a very strong following.  This is because you can put virtually anything on Twitter – personal thoughts, breaking news, advertisements, etc.

According to the article, Facebook popularity varies with time.  I think Facebook goes through phases where it can be extremely popular or extremely slow.  I believe this happens because of certain changes Facebook has had to go through.  I remember at one point in high school they changed the settings and now Google can access our photos or something like that and my older brother went into the full on job speech.  Changes like that usually affect the popularity of Facebook or of that it lacks.

One comment on “Survey: Instagram is the Most Important Social Network for Teens

  1. courtneykamin
    October 22, 2015

    I like this post. I was shocked to find that most people find that the order goes Instagram, Twitter, Snapchat, then Facebook. Asking my friends they told me: Snapchat, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat, Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter. I personally would say Snapchat, Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. I am not a huge fan of many of them yet I still use them, but I would like to use instagram more but am a little addicted to Monday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 20, 2015 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Follow I Want More Points on WordPress.com
