I Want More Points

Extra Credit Blog

Podcasts give a new ‘American Life’ to audio content

http://www.prweek.com/article/1366544/podcasts-give-new-american-life-audio-content

This week’s chapter in Luttrell’s “Social Media” touched upon how mediums and the way businesses use mediums to reach their publics are constantly evolving.  Newspaper readership through online apps have alarmingly increased.  The article found in PR Week stood out to me because of the parallel resemblance to this week’s reading.

The article is about the power a podcast can have.  As of 2014, the number one podcast was Serial.  Serial, from what I understand is a news type of podcast that mimics the style of a television show in that in the beginning a recap is stated.  These types of podcasts gives advertisers the opportunity to join them.

In this week’s Advertising Week, an important theme was “how to reach increasingly distracted audiences across multiple platforms.”  Ira Glass, who is the creator of the the second most popular podcast, believes that if the content is good the listener will stay and that is as simple as it gets.

I agree with this statement.  To contradict Advertising Week, I believe the company should not bombard their consumer across multiple platforms – sometimes less is more and I think advertiser’s can tend to get too excited.

While the population evolves how we communicate/listen must evolve as well.  I have never listened to a podcast before; I have tried but I don’t really understand the concept.  I believe if someone showed me, I would than understand and like listening to podcasts.

014

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 1, 2015 by in Uncategorized.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Follow I Want More Points on WordPress.com
